Skip to Content
X-Men - Nov 10, 2017

KAMLOOPS, B.C. (U SPORTS) – StFX striker Dan Hayfield was honoured with the Joe Johnson Memorial Trophy as U SPORTS men's soccer Player of the Year Wednesday night, as the national award winners were celebrated at the annual All-Canadian gala.

Championship Website
Past Award Winners

Carleton forward Gabriel Bitar captured the Lou Bilek award as Rookie of the Year, while Acadia defender Zachary Visser earned the Student-Athlete Community Service Award for his outstanding contribution both on and off the playing field. Cape Breton bench boss Dean Morley received the Coach of the Year award.

JOE JOHNSON MEMORIAL TROPHY (Player of the Year): Dan Hayfield, StFX

A third-year striker from Exeter, England, Hayfield finished fourth in the country in scoring with 13 goals and in doing so broke the StFX school record for goals scored in a single season. He also led the AUS conference in game-winning goals with six.

Hayfield led the X-Men to a 9-1-2 record this season and a second-place finish in the regular season standings—earning them a first-round playoff bye. In addition to being named league MVP, Hayfield was also named a U SPORTS All-Canadian for the first time and an AUS first team all-star for the second consecutive season.

"Dan Hayfield's biggest strength is his mentality. His perseverance, positive attitude and willingness to consistently train well have combined with his exceptional technical ability to produce a great U SPORTS soccer player," said X-Men head coach Graham Kennedy. "It's not often that a player of Dan's calibre can also contend for a most improved player award but that's the kind of work-ethic he has and he just keeps getting better because of it."

Congratulations to Blake Fenton as well as he was named a member of the U SPORTS All-Rookie Team!


Join in on the conversation with Josh MacIntyre when you subscribe to StFX Varsity Soccer.